Off Campus Library Services

Ask me a question


Book an Online one-to-one chat



Download the Off Campus Library Newsletter Oct 2013.



Useful Library Links
Library Services for Off Campus Students

The dedicated off campus web pages have information on all the services we offer you.


Videos, Tutorials & Guides

Library staff make videos, online tutorials, guides you can download as well as offering online library support.


Library Services for Staff at Partner Centres

If you're teaching on a University of Sunderland programme at a partner centre visit the Partner staff web pages.

Recent Tweets @Uosliboffcampus
Posts tagged "databases"

A few weeks ago Lynne Robinson our Computing and Engineering Librarian organised training on our IEEE Xplore database. We recorded it so that all staff and students on and off campus could benefit.

image

Watch online and find out about the great features of IEEE EXplore:

http://helix.sunderland.ac.uk/ramgen/media/wu0lda/ContentOnline14Feb13.rmvb

You will either need Real Player or VLC Media Player to play this video.

image

Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals. It is one of the most widely used biomedical and pharmaceutical databases because of its currency and in-depth indexing. Frequent updates allow access to the latest medical and pharmacological trends. Approximately 375,000 records are added yearly.

If you’re not sure how to search Embase there is a pre-recorded training session which you may find useful on their support webpage.

image

You can access Embase via DISCOVER or through the list of individual databases on your subject page. All you need is your University User ID and password.

Apothacary bottles
By CarrieLu
http://www.flickr.com/photos/aijoskobi/4019839501/

image
image from http://www.flickr.com/photos/modemhead

University Library Services have a collection of e-books for engineers that are available via Referex. These are a bit unusual in that you don’t use our Library Catalogue to find them like you usually would.

So how do you access Referex ebooks?

Read More

To continue the theme of giving some of our resources the spotlight, this post is for our Environmental Management & Assessment students.

So you want to find relevant journal articles about your topic but you’re not sure what is out there…

image

We usually recommend you start by searching Discover. It will search across most of our databases which is really useful for an overview of what is available in your subject but today I want to highlight one resource that our Environmental Management & Assessment students will find useful.

Science Direct is a leading full text scientific database, and there are many full text journal articles related to Environmental Science on there just waiting for you to find.

You can either search Science Direct using keywords, or you can browse. As the screenshot below illustrates you can refine your search to view just the articles that are available in full text (this means you can save or print them and read them straight away).

image

You can access Science Direct through DISCOVER or through the list of databases on your subject page.

At the moment, a number of students are reporting that they are not logged into Science Directly when they go they from Discover. We are working on a permanent fix but in the meantime, you may wish to download this guide:

Discover & Science Direct

* UPDATE 5/8/12: Discover is now live so check out the latest blog posts about accessing e-books with your University User ID and accessing journals using Discover.

Read More

A couple of weeks ago I blogged about an addition to our e-resources - the IEEE Xplore database which is a great resource for Engineering and Computing students and staff. We’ve made a quick guide to help you become familiar with this database.

Download the Guide at the link above or by clicking on the image below.

IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full-text access to the world’s highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore contains full-text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

You can find IEEE Xplore on Journal search or via the A-Z list of Databases on the Support For Your Subject Pages.

You’ll also need to know your Athens username and password.

Here in the library we subscribe to many different databases and we try to make it as easy as possible to access them all using your Athens Account - it means you only need one password for all databases rather than a different one for each database.

It can still be confusing though - because every database login screen looks slightly different and although you know you have to login to the Athens area you may not be able to find it easily.

The following screenshots of one of our larger databases will hopefully help you if you’ve had this problem

Science Direct:

When you access a journal on Science Direct you will see the following. You will need to expand the Login area by clicking on the + sign next to the Login link.

Once expanded it will look like this:

Notice the most prominent Login box - this is for individual subscribers to the database. You must always look for a link or login box that refers to ‘Athens’. 

Click on the Athens/Institution Login as highlighted above. You may be presented with as econd Athens Login link. From this point follow instructions online and enter your Athens username and password.

Similar problems occur on the Ebsco Platform… just remember when you get to the database login page always login where it asks for your Athens Account.